Slow Cooker Fail!

In last week’s #makedoandmendhour, there was a thread all about alternative jam making methods, including using a slow cooker. I was intrigued by this, and ran off to Google it. And found some recipes for slow cooker strawberry jam.
Now, I wanted to make gooseberry jam, as the gooseberry bush from mum and dad’s old allotment is now in pride of place in our front garden. But I was undeterred at not being able to find a specific recipe, and just followed the recipe that I used last year, but chucked it all in the slow cooker instead…

I put it all in about 12.30pm. Turned the heat to low, while the jam dissolved and waited with much excitement.
And waited.
Slow cooker jam2About 3 hours later, the sugar had finally dissolved, and I turned the heat up to HIGH, and waited.
And waited.
Slow cooker jam3
About 9pm, it was still looking like very runny gooseberry compote, and I was a bit worried about leaving it  on all night.
So I turned it off, and went to bed.

In the morning, the jam fairies hadn’t been in, and it was still looking very un-jam like.
So I gave up, and decanted it all into the preserving pan, turned on the heat. And waited.
Slow cooker jam5

After about an hour of a ‘rolling boil’ and then juice of 2 lemons later, it finally started to wrinkle!

Slow cooker jam9

Hurray!
So a fail for the slow cooker, but at least I managed to rescue it, and got 7 jars of yummy gooseberry jam.
Eventually…

Anyone else had any success with Slow Cooker Jam?

 

12 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Fail!

  1. I haven’t tried it and all my instincts say no – I doubt the temp gets high enough and keeping the lid on means keeping the moisture in and I always though some was supposed to escape to get it to reduce?

  2. I made gooseberry jam last year & it was delicious ! I do think gooseberries are particularly stubborn so need a higher temperature than you can achieve in a slow cooker for them but maybe softer fruit is worth a try ?

  3. Haha! Is it true that you need a maslin pan to make jam or will a large saucepan do? I managed to break my blender this week pulverising oats. I wasn’t too sad, though, as it was a second-hand blender from when we cleared out my in-laws’ house so goodness knows how old it was. Also, I was waiting for it to go so that I could justify buying a new food processor, which I bought yesterday and have fallen in love with already. It does *everything*. I think it might even take me to the moon if I figured out the right attachment.

    • I think a large saucepan would be fine. My understanding is that a masin pan just helps the liquid to evaporate quicker, as it as wide top? Not sure if this is true!
      Your food processor sounds fab :)

  4. Pingback: Quick and Easy Gift Bags | My Make Do and Mend Year

Leave a Reply

