A Fixathon (Hurrah!)

Since Christmas, we (well actually mostly hubby, if I’m honest..) have been on a bit of a fix-a-thon. On the quiet.
It kind of crept up on me, and before I knew it, we (hubby) had fixed an impressive number of things :)

1) A few days before Christmas, the dishwasher started making avery ominous noise-a kind of grindy, I’m about to explode noise.
Hubby did a very un-hubby like thing and Consulted the Manual…
And then duly cleaned out some kind of pump/outlet thingy, and found a suspect stone (I have NO idea how a stone ends up in the dishwasher-Small people?!) after a rinse through on hot with some vinegar-all sorted.
HUURAH! Saved from the prospect of a Christmas doing mountains of washing up.

2) A week or so later, the washing machine started doing the very same thing. Full of confidence, hubby again Consulted the Manual (only this time it was the washing machine manual, obviously) and did some kind of clearing out  of a pipe. We did the hot wash vinegar thing again and hey presto-all sorted-HURRAH!

3) Not long into the New Year, the microwave decided it was it’s turn to start playing up and began just coming on whenever the door was shut, but it wasn’t actually heating things up.
I consulted a couple of people on Twitter, but was told to steer clear of attempting a repair due to the high voltage nature of microwaves. Undeterred, hubby did a spot of Googling and found out that sometimes the fuse can go in the “magnetron” and that this can be replaced, so he set to taking the top off. Only to find that he needed a special screwdriver, which he bought back from work one night. Only to find it wasn’t the right special screwdriver and had to borrow one from someone else. Anyway, long, potentially dull story short-a lever had come loose that attached to the door handle internally-he popped this back on and THRICE HURRAH! It worked :)

Day 7

4) I have done my first ever attempt at darning.

Day 6

I am a little ashamed that I completed a Make Do and Mend Year without attempting darning, but in my defence, it was a pretty busy year…
These are a pair of Joules socks, that my mum bought for BigSmall for his birthday, and he has only been wearing for a few months. I was really disappointed that they wore through so quickly as I suspect they were not cheap.
Anyway-not the most delicate of darning, and certainly another one for the ‘visible mending’ pile, but the hole is gone (for now) HURRAH!

5) I have also attempted a couple of Sugru repairs-one which has worked (HURRAH!)-on a Playmobil helicopter blade (although this has not been tested yet by the Smalls…) and one which didn’t-on a plastic hinge thingy on a clothes drier.

All in all-pretty good going!
I commented to hubby that I don’t think *we* would have even attempted fixing the microwave pre-My Make Do and Mend Year, which he disputed, but it has certainly made us stop and think twice before just mindlessly replacing things that are broken.
Anyone else done any mending or fixing?
If you did, you will, I am sure, be relieved to know that you are “on trend” for 2014-The Guardian ran a great piece last week all about fixing things, with some pretty handy tips too-if you didn’t see it, here is the link.

Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.42.07

 

HURRAH for fixing :)

14 thoughts on “A Fixathon (Hurrah!)

  1. Magnetron is always a word that makes me want to laugh, and say it out loud in a deep, booming, echoing voice MAGNETRON hahaha. Makes me think of old sci-fi movies with bad special effects where the MAGNETRON is malfunctioning

    well done to hubby to fixing it mind

  2. We fixed our dishwasher a couple of years ago when the door refused to shut – googled the problem, discovered that there was a door catch which fails, ordered the catch from eSpares (other spare part suppliers are available…allegedly) and fitted it – all good!

    Wouldn’t attempt the microwave though i must admit – and definitely not now I know it’s got a MAGNETRON!

    • I am very lucky! I am not good at DIY, and neither are the male members of my family (sorry chaps if you are reading this…) so I appreciate hubby’s skills even more!

  3. Happy new year! I didn’t know about Sugru – it looks amazing. I’m going to get some and use it to fix the handle on an espresso coffee pot which I’ve been meaning to fix forever. Hope it works! I was going to say that my darning has always been a failure because it causes blisters/rubs so do keep an eye out for that. Nicola

    • Happy New Year to you too Nicola. Sugru sounds like it would be just the job for the coffee pot. We try and save things up to fix with it, as once the pack is open, it tends to ‘go off’ pretty quickly. But having said that, the packs are small, so you might use all of it up quite easily! They stock it in some B&Q stores, so worth checking out, and also Sugru gave us some freebies to give away at our Repair Cafes-so might be worth checking if you have a Repair Cafe or similar near to you, and they might have some for you to try!
      I was a little worried about the ‘comfort factor’ of my slightly rustic darning, but they have now been worn and have gained the BigSmall seal of approval! But I will keep my eye out for blisters-thankyou!

  4. My fix is more mundan. The picture was comimg unstuck from the glass worktop protector thingy and was no longer hygienic so I peeled of the rest of the picture from the board, gave the board a scrub with bicarb and vinagar, found 4 new feet which I already had and hi presto a new chopping board and it is now plastic free!

  5. For better safer food prep I dropped the microwave from food prep about 15 years ago and haven’t regretted it yet. Sweden and Germany did studies which quite frankly scare the heck out of me so I don’t bother. same with hot grilling. Cook well you only have the one life.

Leave a Reply

